Ecuador Fact File

Ecuador Information


Population: 15,654,411 (July 2014 est.)

Area: 283,561 sq km

Capital City: Quito

Time Zone: UTC-05:00

Location: Western South America, bordering the Pacific Ocean at the Equator, between Colombia and Peru

Climate: Tropical along coast, becoming cooler inland at higher elevations; tropical in Amazonian jungle lowlands

Currency: United States dollar

Language: Spanish (Castillian) 93% (official), Quechua 4.1%, other indigenous 0.7%, foreign 2.2%

System of Government: Republic

Head of State: President Rafael CORREA Delgado (since 15 January 2007)

Telephone Country Code: 593

Emergency numbers: In case of an emergency, call 911 or 101 for the police only.

Electricity: 120v

Religion: Roman Catholic 74%, Evangelical 10.4%, Jehovah’s Witness 1.2%, other 6.4% (includes Mormon Buddhist, Jewish, Spiritualist, Muslim, Hindu, indigenous religions, African American religions, Pentecostal), atheist 7.9%, agnostic 0.1%

Life Expectancy at Birth: 76.36 years

Exports: $27.33 billion (2014 est.)

Imports: $26.4 billion (2014 est.)

Gross Domestic Product (Purchasing Power Parity): $182 billion (2014 est.)

GDP per Capita: $11,400 (2014 est.)

Inflation Rate: 3.9% (2014 est.)

Source: CIA The World Factbook



Get Your Free Ecuador Report Now


Learn more about Ecuador and other countries in our daily postcard e-letter.


Simply enter your email address below and we’ll send you a FREE REPORT – Ecuador: Live Like Royalty on Your Social Security.

Get Your Free Report Here

No spam pledge. We value your privacy.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *