Antigua and Barbuda has 171 square miles of indented coast-line

History: The Siboney were the first people to inhabit the islands of Antigua and Barbuda in 2400 B.C., but Arawak Indians populated the islands when Columbus landed on his second voyage in 1493. Early Spanish and French settlements were succeeded by an English colony in 1667. Slavery, established to run the sugar plantations on Antigua, was abolished in 1834. The islands became an independent state within the British Commonwealth of Nations in 1981.

Location: Caribbean, islands between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, east-southeast of Puerto Rico.

Area: 171 square miles (Antigua 108 square miles; Barbuda 6.2 square miles). About 2.5 times the size of Washington, DC.

Population: 92,436 (July 2015 est.)

Capital: Saint John’s

Geography: Antigua has a deeply indented shoreline with many natural harbors and beaches; Barbuda has a large western harbor.

Climate: Tropical maritime; little seasonal temperature variation.

Government: Constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary system of government and a Commonwealth Realm

Chief of State: Queen Elizabeth II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor General Louisse Lake-Tack (since 17 July 2007)

Head of Government: Prime Minister Winston Baldwin Spencer (since 24 March 2004).

Language: English (official), local dialects.

Religion: Protestant 68.3% (Anglican 17.6%, Seventh Day Adventist 12.4%, Pentecostal 12.2%, Moravian 8.3%, Methodist 5.6%, Wesleyan Holiness 4.5%, Church of God 4.1%, Baptist 3.6%), Roman Catholic 8.2%, other 12.2%, unspecified 5.5%, none 5.9% (2011 est.)

Time Zone: UTC-4 (1 hour ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)

Source: CIA The World Factbook